Girl Online By Zoe Sugg | Book Review

22510983Title: Girl Online

Author: Zoe Sugg (Zoella)

Publisher: Penguin


I had no idea GirlOnline would take off the way it has – I can’t believe I now have 5432 followers, thanks so much! – and the thought of opening up to you all about this is terrifying, but here goes…

Penny has a secret.

Under the alias GirlOnline, she blogs about school dramas, boys, her mad, whirlwind family – and the panic attacks she’s suffered from lately. When things go from bad to worse, her family whisks her away to New York, where she meets the gorgeous, guitar-strumming Noah. Suddenly Penny is falling in love – and capturing every moment of it on her blog.

But Noah has a secret too. One that threatens to ruin Penny’s cover – and her closest friendship – forever.’


Blogger and YouTube personality, Zoe Sugg, otherwise known to her fans as Zoella, switches the camera for the pen, for first book, Girl Online.

I personally, have been a fan of Zoella for quite some time now, so when I first had the chance, I grabbed my money, and just ran for the shop to pick it up (that may not exactly be how it happened).

The moment it was actually in my hands, I had a bit of a Gollum moment. You know, the whole, ‘My precious!’ thing?

I was very excited to read it, raring to go even, and ready for what was in store. I mean, I was about to read a book by one of my favourite YouTuber’s. However, after about 100 pages or so into the book, I realised I may have rushed to conclusions a little there. I was a little disappointed, especially at the beginning anyway. It was fairly slow paced and I must admit at certain points I was slightly bored. The plot itself was a little lost at times and was unnecessarily dragged out.

Also, I don’t know why, but it definitely reminded me of Geek Girl by Holly Smale, in both character, as well as plot. In a way this could be a good thing, but at the same time makes it too easy to predict certain outcomes.

There were elements that I did end up finding enjoyable. For instance, the relationship between main character, Penny and and Noah, as well as with her best friend, Elliot. Both of these relationships had the usual happy beginnings and then witnessed complications, which is definitely realistic, but other moments together, were rather far fetched. That didn’t particularly matter (much). These characters made the book worth while and helped it to all come together to work nicely.

Certain chapters were set out as if they were blog posts, with which Penny would use to let out how she truly feels and to be who she really is, rather than being someone else and not being able to say what she needs to. It made her character have more depth as well as making it easier for me to identify with her, because that is one of the reason I started this blog, but also because, when I can’t express my true feelings, I just write it all down. For this reason, I felt so attached to this character, and felt for her through the varying ordeals she is put into or puts herself into. However, because we were so similar, there were times that I had to put down the book because of recurring feelings, and realising I may have dealt with certain situations wrong.

Overall it was a good read, but had certain aspects which did let it don a bit in different places. I am hopeful, and can’t wait to see if Zoe can pull it back, when I finally read the second book, Girl Online On Tour.

Lonely Girl Awards Girl Online: 3 / 5 Happy Faces

2 thoughts on “Girl Online By Zoe Sugg | Book Review

Leave a Reply

