Movie Monday – ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’ Review

sw-the-force-awakens

As part of my families yearly tradition to go to the Cinema on New Years Eve, me and my mom went to see not just mine, but many other people’s most anticipated movie of the year, Star Wars: The Force Awakens.

As soon as the opening titles began rolling, and the theme tune to the movie came on, my excitement was beyond my control. It felt just like the first time I actually watched any of the movies, and the moment I knew that I was completely in love with the franchise.

I went into the movie having already made certain expectations about how I think it will go. I knew it would be good, but never thought that it would be anywhere near as good as it actually ended up being. Don’t get me wrong, it is definitely not on the same par and level as episodes 4, 5 and 6, but let’s be honest, nothing could be, it is still a lot better than the prequels could ever be.

Something I really loved about this movie, was how we get the chance to meet with some old and well loved friend’s as well as some newer faces. This along with some very familiar elements which were added to the story line, really evoked the feeling of nostalgia. This is great for fans of the franchise, as it let’s the movies all come together as one true story which all flow into each other well. Also, it adds more depth to what we already know, and hints to what might be to come.

Our two leads, Rey and Finn, made for a great new edition to the movies, and to me, seemed like a mixture of many previous characters all put together. For example, Rey reminded me very much of Luke Skywalker when he was younger, however, later on in the movie it becomes evident as to why. Anyway, the chemistry between the two of them was awesome to see and made for a much more enjoyable performance, as their friendship seemed real.

The action within the movie was executed so well, and really stuck to the style of the franchise. The effects and the dialogue used fit these moments almost perfectly.

It was AWESOME! Even my mom ended up enjoying it, and that is really saying something.

With appearances from the likes of Harrison Ford, Carrie Fisher and even Mark Hamill, as well as a few twists that may have you on the edge of your seat, or even possibly break you a little, this is a movie not to miss.

(This was originally posted on my other blog, however I have decided to put them all on this one so it is easier for me)

23 thoughts on “Movie Monday – ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’ Review

  1. GeorgieGrl says:

    I kinda liked it but my parents hated it as they thought the story was basically like the others! I didn’t though!
    We knew someone who was in it playing one of the first order officers at a computer, she had 1 line!
    Luv
    GeorgieGrl
    p.s. gr8 post!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Lisforlexi says:

    I loved it to but it was really similar to the first movie! A character lives on a desert planet and turn out to have “the force” (Rey and Luke”) , a droid is carrying some import information which it needs to deliver to someone. There is an epic starship battle around the enemy base. A character has a fight with his son on a bridge in the enemy base. Did anyone else notice this?!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

