How To Be British

How To Be British(1)

Yesterday I received a new follower to my Blog, Katarina Shafer who seemed very interested in me being from the UK and so I said, just for her, I would create some very British posts so that she, as well as anyone else here who may want to know what it takes to actually be British, can do to achieve this.

Get Used To The Odd Weather Changes:

Anyone who is from the UK will tell you that the weather is just weird and can change at any moment, from good to bad, to even worse, and then back to normal again. It’s weird but it wouldn’t be the same without it.

635621218512751822-1215505635_elsa20blizzard

WARNING: if you come to the UK in the Summer, expect rain (a lot of it)

Drink A Lot Of Tea:

Sorry about this typical stereotype, but I am British and couldn’t live without tea, so it’s on the list. This GIF actually shows just how serious we are about it!

54bd8d60c90e8c43b4000004

Learn To Queue:

It is thought that we Brits spend about 6 months of our lives just standing in a queue waiting for something or other, sometimes longer, because we are too polite when it comes to people pushing in front of us. We just stand back and stay quiet because we don’t want to start anything.

8-queue

Have ‘Perfect’ Etiquette:

Over the years we have been praised for our manners and etiquette, so follow what we do, but just don’t over do it because even we haven’t been taught how to balance books on top of our heads just like somebody from let’s say a Jane Austen novel. It’s not important.

30b6bfe053aa38e2f64c53c00d66c076

Adapt To Our Very Different Humor:

We get American Humor, and American’s get ours, to a certain extent. This is mainly because it comes in the form of very dry, witty comments which may also come across as extremely sarcastic, but according to some people, that may be just because our accents make it sound that way. We may also use a lot of irony which I am aware some people don’t always catch up on at first. Anyway, our humor is weird. Sorry about that!

giphy1

If a British person tells you a joke, and you don’t get it, just laugh anyway!

Hopefully these 5 things will help you if you ever choose to visit the UK or just decide you want to make friend’s with a lot of people living there. It is definitely the way to go.

Lonely Girl x

67 thoughts on “How To Be British

  1. Ani says:

    Hi there!
    I had to read this, since I live here for a while, and it was really entertaining! In the beginning I worked in the countryside, where 9 people out of 10 drunk tea every day, every hour, but I’ve moved to London, where coffee is more popular I think. Seriously! If you go out, there are coffee cups everywhere… and newspapers, of course. I think the tea depends on where you live, and the lifestyle. But British people drink tea like water anyway. About the queue: as I’ve noticed, the queue is like how you described it, although, in London people just push the others if the tube or the bus comes. Sometimes it’s really annoying, I just let them pass, I can wait an other minute or so. In the countryside people are more polite, because they’re not in a rush like in the big cities.
    Anyway, I loved the post!
    Ani
    https://survivingbitsandpieces.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Chloe Lauren says:

      Hey! I think I have only been to London once? Coffee? I don’t like coffee haha. I think you are right though, tea is the best drink ever, so we drink it a lot. The queuing is something I thought everyone did the same as we did here in the UK, but apparently not so much. I don’t get it. Oh and thanks for stopping by and reading 🙂

      Like

  2. Jess says:

    Haha, I love this! I’m Australian, and I love British humour – I’m a huge fan of irony! xD I have an english teacher who’s British, and he uses the double negative quite a lot and it’s something I’m not a huge fan of…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. jwforeva says:

    Interesting! And it confirms my observation when I went to UK a while back. Everyone was on tea HAHA! I really want to move to the UK in future though. The heat in Singapore is like none other. HOT AND HUMID 24/7 all year round. It’s crazy!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Chloe Lauren says:

      I’m actually not sure. I know most other Countries will mainly have like herbal teas where as we have milk and sugars with ours more than anything. I love 2 sugars and a bit of milk but not too much. I am picky (most Brits are) haha!

      Like

  4. Jim says:

    Hi, I do think this is a great website. I stumbledupon it 😉 I’m going to revisit once again since I book-marked it.
    Money and freedom is the best way to change,
    may you be rich and continue to help others.

    Like

Leave a Reply

