Insurgent Review | Movie Monday

four

I really loved Divergent, it was a fun filled adventure which was filled to the brim with suspense and action. It was a brilliant adaption of the novel by Veronica Roth, and now we have Insurgent, the 2nd installment of this trilogy.

How did it compare?

Insurgent takes place just a few days after the ending sequence of Divergent finishes, and Dauntless members, Tris Prior (Shailene Woodley) and Four (Theo James) are still on the run from Erudite leader, Jeanine (Kate Winslet) by keeping refuge within Amity.

When their cover is finally blown, they find themselves in the hands of the Factionless, which we find Four has a connection to, due to their leader also being his mother.

Tris is then taken and used by Jeanine to open a box which is said contain an important message, but which is unknown to everyone else. The message can only be revealed by someone who is Divergent, such as Tris.

Apart from the Action/Adventure angle the movie is known for, there is also a romantic side which plays an integral role in the story line.

We see Tris and Fours relationship develop even further than when we last saw them in the previous movie. Their chemistry is practically perfect, both on screen, and also as themselves off screen. They just seem to really fit.

We also see how Tris and Caleb’s (Ansel Elgort) relationship as well as their bond changes, compared to that of the last film. In the previous movie, we see how close they were, and although Caleb strays for a while, he returns to his sisters side at battle. However, in this installment of the trilogy, we see him do the complete opposite, and leave her when she needs him the most.

This really annoyed me, because I love Ansel Elgort. I seriously loved him. I will always remember him as Augustus Waters from The Fault In Our Stars from now on, although I personally prefer Four and Tris together, rather than Augustus and Hazel.

I wonder who Shailene Woodley preferred?

I am clearly going off track here!

This movie really reminded me how much the character of Peter (Miles Teller) aggravated me. He really made me want to rip my hair out on so many occasions. Towards the end however, he does redeem himself a little, and I mean only a little. I still didn’t particularly like him, even when he did try and help.

He was arrogant, and so full of himself. How can people like his character? Sure he helped but I can’t see me liking him in the next film, but maybe I will. I don’t know!

Thanks to Insurgent, I now hate Caleb almost as much as I do for Peter. Who’s next? Four? Obviously not, but I am just saying.

The ending to me seemed too similar to the ending of another movie. I am of course referring to The Maze Runner, which I also loved, but due to seeing the same thing before, all of the excitement I should have had, was already gone. I was  seriously disappointed. I loved the first movie for its originality, especially with the way in which certain elements were filmed, and now look, it’s like looking in a movie mirror.

Insurgent was no doubt a good addition to the trilogy, but failed to capture the same standard as the very first movie, Divergent. Oh well!

Have you seen Insurgent? Did you enjoy it?

Lonely Girl x

7 thoughts on “Insurgent Review | Movie Monday

Leave a Reply

