Ever Feel Like You Are Not Enough?

About Me(3)

Hey Guys,

I have seen a lot of people recently talk about self image and being able to love yourself, and that’s why I have decided to write about this, because I really struggle with that.

For the last few weeks, months, probably even years, I have felt as though I am not as good as anyone else in any way. People tell me I have a lot going on for myself, but for some reason I just can’t accept it as the truth. Others just tell me just to get over it, but I don’t think they get how much I am hurting inside.

It’s got to the point where I have become obsessed with making myself look as good as I can before I leave, because over the years people picked out every little flaw I had, and it made me scared of it happening all over again. So now, I do anything I can to stop it before it does happen. It wasn’t just my appearance, but the way in which I acted, and who I was. Everything I was, was wrong to them, and at any chance they had, they tried to alter that part of me.

The emotional distress ruined me!

I went from having total confidence in myself, to not being able to leave without being frightened of what others might think, or if I would see these people again. This was partly where my anxiety came from, and why I find it difficult to leave my house at all.

Over the years I became much worse, and have even reached the point where all I can say to myself is, ‘I hate myself’ or ‘why am I like this’. I have realised, although I am not with these people anymore, I am continuing what they did to me, by bringing myself down. Maybe that’s what they wanted. I don’t know!

But what I do know is, I can’t keep living this way, so I am going to do whatever I can to change my views on myself, and beat those who beat me down!

Thank you guys for all of the support you have given me, you are the ones that keep me going, along with my parents and friends, and constantly help me with your great comments!

Lonely Girl x


Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin

45 thoughts on “Ever Feel Like You Are Not Enough?

  1. fibit says:

    So many people point out everybody else’s flaws, but can’t see recognise their own. If people criticise your looks, just remember, it’s because they don’t have anything better to do than complain

    Liked by 2 people

  2. happyalexx says:

    Some days, I feel absolutely horrific and ugly and disgusting. But then I realize this is my body and my face and I wouldn’t have it any other way. Do what you need to do to make yourself feel beautiful, but accept that all the ‘bad’ bits are part of you and incidentally make a good person.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Vamp It Up Mcr (Chrissie) says:

    Your self worth should never be governed by others. Who gives them the right to decide? Well you are to be honest. I’m not saying it’s intentional or that it’s easy not to care what happened but this is in the past and it’s only your head that’s making it effect the present.

    Finding ‘your kind of people’ makes a massive difference to self confidence because you can be yourself around them. Sometimes I can look utterly rubbish (frizzy hair, bright red face, big bloated tummy, giant bags) but they don’t care because it’s the person underneath that they like. Even if you can’t focus on the lovely person you are on the inside like they always do, then at least ignore what strangers think, after all, 10 minutes after walking past you they aren’t even going to remember!

    Sometimes on the days I look extra crappy I just walk around the local shops without makeup or doing my hair and if I get looks I just give the person a smile because I know I’m getting on with my shit instead of worrying about it or anybody else’s for that matter! My bloke who’s an ex punk taught me that lol

    By the way, just the fact you are worrying wether you are a good person or not means you must be a nice person to some extent, otherwise you wouldn’t care at all.

    I hope some of this helps x

    Like

    • Chloe Lauren says:

      I see what you are saying, and I try not to let it get to me, but these things really effected me. Also, it’s not just my looks, it’s me as a person in general that people don’t always agree with. People have told me I am really nice looking, but because of these few people, I can’t see it for myself. I have also been told it’s just jealousy. I don’t know! I can’t leave without doing my hair at all! I am too self conscious. Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Ally says:

    I feel like that a lot! Especially with my sister being the “perfect angel” she is. She is in 5th grade now, doing the exact same stuff I did, and of course, does way better than me. My parents are always praising her for everything, and I don’t get praised for schoolwork. I do get recognized for dance though, so I guess its ok. But every day I dread going to school because I am so self conscious about everything on me. Wow. Rant over. But anyway, I know what you mean.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. thoughtfultash says:

    I defiantly feel like this a lot of the time. I feel like I’m just going to be judged if I don’t dress up nice, or wear makeup or do my hair when I go out so I’m scared to go out without being all done up. This goes for just anything i take an interest in or anything I do! I just feel now, many people will judge you no matter what, you need to learn to feel confident within yourself and as long as YOUR happy with how you look or whatever you doing, then thats all that matters! -Tash x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Chloe Lauren says:

      Wow! It’s weird to see how many people have actually experienced the same thing! I get what you mean. Exactly! Some people will find something to say, even if you think there is nothing. I want to feel confident but it is a little difficult 🙂 x

      Liked by 1 person

  6. parisianpages says:

    I bring myself down all the time and its something I’ve been trying to work on too. I had confidence once but then society ruined it by the constantly telling me who to be and what to wear .
    Sometimes I want to go back to being a kid because I didn’t worry about my appearance at all back then.
    I hope you’re successful in trying to better yourself. Just got to take it little by Little . You can do this ,I believe in you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. A Derpy Unicorn says:

    You are not alone in this, I feel the same way. Even though I don’t know you very well, reading your blog and your comments, I know you are awesome mate! You are beautiful and cool 😉 remember? You make awesome pictures, that look beautiful just like you. You are an awesome writer and is obviously opening up to the real issues in life and us readers appreciate that. Just know people who talk shit about you/judge have nothing better to do and they don’t know who you are/ too bad for them amirite?. I know it might take a while, I myself is going through this, but be confident in yourself and truly accept that all these compliments people are giving you are 100% true.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Chloe Lauren says:

      Aww thank youuuuuuu!!! Oh yeah I am the cool in a nerdy way 😉 I remember! I write what I think others may also be feeling as well as me 🙂 We can get through it together!!! Thanks for your kind words 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  8. dis-connect says:

    I understand. I used to feel like this EVER. SINGLE. DAY. Of my life. I used to wake up hating myself. But hating yourself is easy, you know. Everyone has plenty of flaws, to hate yourself, all you have to do is glance even once at those flaws. Loving yourself is the real deal. That’s what’s hard. You’re talented, people love you for who you are. On this blog, you’ve earned 300 followers for yourself! 300 people love you and want to read your blog. As for how you look, I’m sire you’re beautiful. Maybe not someone else’s type of beautiful, but beautiful in your own unique way 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Chloe Lauren says:

      I hate the feeling! I get what you mean because that’s I do. So many people have said I am pretty but due to how I have been treated, I think they are just saying it. People also say it’s jealousy, because I have really young skin. Everyone says I like 14 rather than 18 haha.

      Like

  9. PrivatePublicGirl says:

    Your self worth shouldn’t be something debatable depending on other’s opinion! You do what you need to do to feel at your max potentinal, keep your head high and spread that confidence! You are amazing, and deep down I am sure that you know it! Just give that confidence a chance! It will change things so much 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Annabeth says:

    Ah, be more confident! You are unique, and that uniqueness gives each individual their own beauty! You are perfect in your own ways, and you can achieve things other people can’t! Be proud! 🙂 Don’ let others’ opinions bring you down! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  11. jwforeva says:

    Hey Chloe, to be honest I’ve had a pretty bad few days myself…worrying and arguing with my parents over various things. But that’s besides the point. I wanna say you’re so much more than what you think you are. Try to find the silver lining 🙂 And know that you’re awesome 🙂 Cheer up!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

