I Was Here Review | Book Club Tuesday

23507628Title: I Was Here

Author: Gayle Forman

Publisher: Simon and Schuster UK

Buy This Book: Amazon UK | Amazon US


Ā ‘This characteristically powerful novel follows eighteen-year-old Cody Reynolds in the months following her best friend’s shocking suicide.

As Cody numbly searches for answers as to why Meg took her own life, she begins a journey of self-discovery which takes her to a terrifying precipice, and forces her to question not only her relationship with the Meg she thought she knew, but her own understanding of life, love, death and forgiveness.

A phenomenally moving story, I Was Here explores the sadly all-too-familiar issue of suicide and self-harm, addressing it in an authentic way with sensitivity and honesty.’


Review:

Gayle Forman, the author of one of my favourite books, If I Stay, managed to wow me and take my breath away once again, but this time with I Was Here. I love her writing style, and story telling, but why always death Gayle? Why?

The main characters are Cody, who we follow throughout, and her best friend Meg who just like Marley in a Christmas Carol, is dead to begin with, but remains at the forefront of everybody’s minds, especially Cody’s.

From the very beginning, Cody gives off a sense of being in control and having complete confidence, but we soon learn that this is just a facade, as later on you see her as timid and more frightened than she will want to let people know. There is this vulnerability which allows for the audience to feel connected to her.

Meg as a character is also lovable, but is portrayed as being almost perfect. She had characteristics of someone I could not relate to at all. She was a bit unrealistic to me, but I still felt bad for her.

The main plot idea revolves around Cody who leaves for Tacoma, the place where Meg had attended University. She clears out her stuff and leads to her doing a proper investigation into her best friends death, as certain details didn’t quite add up.

Whilst there, Cody befriends some of Megs roommates, as well as meeting Ben Mcallister, a guy Meg was infatuated with. There is a romantic connection between the two, but I feel as though it wasn’t explored enough.

This is the perfect book for anybody who wants to be broken into pieces and taken on a journey of emotion.

Lonely Girl Awards I Was Here: 4 / 5 Happy Faces

Lonely Girl x


Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin

15 thoughts on “I Was Here Review | Book Club Tuesday

  1. parisianpages says:

    I read this book and it left a mark on me because I couldn’t believe there were people like that who would encourage someone to …well you know ( I don’t want to spoil it ) but damn , I was shocked . But I loved it because it was one of those books that you hug when you finish reading and I love the romance in it too even if it wasn’t explored enough . But it’s just sad that there’s people like that .
    definitely need to be cautious of some people online .

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

