5 Signs You’re In A Toxic Friendship

Hey Guys,

As you might be aware, I have had my fair share of toxic friendships, even up to quite recently, so I thought I would give you signs to look out for, which will show you if you are in the wrong friendship. I just don’t want you to be in the same position I have been in for a few years. I hope this helps!

Betrayal Of Trust:

You can put as much effort and trust as possible into a friendship, and then within a few seconds have it all ruined because the other person lets you down and betrays you in some way or another. It hurts! I know!

You Begin To Fear Or Become Anxious Whenever They Are Around:

I never used to have anxiety until I became friends with someone who ruined me. Anytime I saw them, or felt like they were going to get angry with me, I would become frightened. Some people thought it was weird that I could be afraid of someone, but they clearly have no idea what it’s like to be in that position.

Manipulate Your Feelings:

There was one person in my life who always knew the right things to say to make me feel like something she did, was completely my fault and I made her do it. I was being conditioned to apologise for things I hadn’t done, to the point that I just say sorry now just in case.

Picking Out Every Little Flaw You Have:

I think I mentioned this last week, but I had someone who would always pick out whatever problems I had, and make me feel as though what I was, was wrong. It made me go from super confident, to what I am now, afraid of what people will think. No one should ever have the power to control how you see yourself.

They Make Your Achievements Seem Small:

Any achievement, even those that seem small, are actually not. If you have done something which deserves mentioning, then a true friend will tell you how brilliant it is, but someone who is a toxic friend, will not because it’s not about them. If you have an achievement, you should be able to feel great about it, and not worried about how they react to it.

These are not all of the signs, but if you can relate to any of these, I would begin to re evaluate the friendships you currently hold. I stayed with mine for 4 years, because I was too afraid. Leaving was the best thing I ever did! Sure, there is pain afterwards, but that can be fixed, staying would make it worse.

Things will get better!

Lonely Girl x


Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin

46 thoughts on “5 Signs You’re In A Toxic Friendship

  1. flawedsilence says:

    I am so glad you left your toxic friend, and posted this because I know this will help give people the confidence to be like “you know what, I don’t need you in my life cause you’re holding me back.”

    Liked by 1 person

      • flawedsilence says:

        Sadly I feel most people get caught up in toxic relationships at one point in their life whether they realise it or not. Thankfully we have amazing bloggers like you raising awareness! I’m so glad you’ve found the strength and courage to leave – awesomeness on your part

        Liked by 1 person

      • Chloe Lauren says:

        Oh I know! Some people don’t even realise the power their words will have on others. Aww thank you!!! Oh and I recently had another friend like it, who, yet again, I apologised to instead of them saying sorry to me!

        Liked by 1 person

      • flawedsilence says:

        I know right – wouldn’t it be amazing to wake up one day to a button which you can press which will erase all negativity, and manipulative actions?! Aw, well that just shows what a bigger person you are to apologise when it isn’t even your fault.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. crap says:

    i guess i dont have friends like this, or maybe i’m too blind to notice. But i’m glad to find a post like this. most of the time, people would post about “5 signs you’re in a toxic relationship” and they somehow just forget about how important friendships are. I’m glad you did this !

    Liked by 1 person

    • Chloe Lauren says:

      I hope you don’t have friends like that, but if you do, it’s just about figuring out where the problem is, and working out your next step. Oh I know what you mean! Friendships can have as much of a hold on you as a relationship with someone can. Thank you πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

