Mother’s Day | Stroll On Sunday

stroll

Hey Guys,

Today is Mother’s Day, in the UK anyway, and obviously also Stroll On Sunday, so it’s only right that I dedicate this post to my wonderful mom.

Hi mom! Thank you for loving me, even through all of the idiotic things I have said or done (that is a lot).

Anyway, today we went to Brockhampton Estate, a manor house dating back to the 14th Century, and having what can only be described as having one of the largest driveways you will ever see! You could drive down there, but no, my stepdad insisted that we walk the mile instead. Oh well! I am a bit of a speed walker, so I was first down there.

The Manor House:

The house was originally the traditional black and white, but The National Trust stripped it down, so that they could preserve the building. It is also surrounded by a moat. How awesome is that? I wish I had a moat.

20160306_12533520160306_12534520160306_13474520160306_141804

These are just a selection of the items you could purchase and were placed outside the old Granary, which has now been turned into a shop/mini cafe.

20160306_13261120160306_132619

Whilst on our walk around the house itself, we spotted a few ducks in the moat, swimming away on this very cold day, although I am pretty sure they don’t care about that. Lucky!

20160306_13354020160306_133543

You all know by now, I love close ups of flowers. I am not sure why, but they make for a good photo.

20160306_134313

The next few pictures are a few of the things we found around the house. Some dated much further back than others, as the buildings history spanned for quite a number of years, and saw quite a few owners, all of which had the last name Barneby. One of the owners, Bartholomew Richard Barneby, was left the house by his uncle because he had never married, but before he could claim the estate, he had to take the name Barneby.

20160306_13492620160306_13540920160306_13525420160306_135612

Mother’s Day Tea:

To properly celebrate Mother’s Day, me and my mom went to the cafe, where I had tea, she had coffee, and we both had a little cupcake to accompany it. Perfect!

20160306_14565520160306_150204

How Did You Celebrate Mother’s Day?

Lonely Girl x


Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin

12 thoughts on “Mother’s Day | Stroll On Sunday

  1. jwforeva says:

    These places look like the perfect place to have a nice quiet time. I just wish I could go to the countryside like this πŸ™‚ Amazing photos Chlo πŸ™‚ And the ducks are so cute. Hope you had a great mother’s day!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Michelle says:

    Nice photos Chloe. I too wish that I could go to places like that but here in Southern California in the States there’s not that much “country houses”. There are those Spanish Missions but I haven’t been to those in ages!

    Like

  3. regina5000 says:

    As always AWESOME!!! I love all the photos, you take really good pics!! XD (I don’t know if I’ve already said it but anyway…) I love it!!!! XD HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY!! (Although here in Spain is in the first Sunday of May) Lovely post!! XD

    Like

  4. Vamp It Up Mcr (Chrissie) says:

    That old typewriter looks wonderful! I think it’s lovely that you and your Mum went for afternoon tea and cupcakes as well as exploring the manor house ^_^

    I bought my Mum some traditional Indian fabric hanging birds and hearts with little bells on the end.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

