The Fault In Our Stars | Movie Monday

https://i1.wp.com/www.ats.edu.mx/ifs/salc/wp-content/uploads/2016/02/fault-in-our-stars-poster-large.jpg

Review:

Hazel Grace Lancaster (Shailene Woodley), a 16 year old with Thyroid Cancer is forced to go to a support group by her mother (Laura Dern), where she meets Augustus Waters (Ansel Elgort). There is an instant connection between the two, but Hazel is slightly more hesitant than he is about it.

Hazel introduces him to her favourite book, An Imperial Affliction. Their growing friendship and relationship stems from their joint love for this book and leads them to writing to, and later going to Amsterdam to meet the author himself, Peter Van Houten (Willem Dafoe). The trip is cut short when Augustus gives Hazel with terrible news which sets the tone for the rest of the movie and sticks that way until the very end.

I have seen this movie quite a few times now, and liked it, but just not as much as I did with the book. The book had so much more depth to it and even mentions an ex girlfriend of Augustus who also had Cancer and lost her battle. That was actually my favourite part of the book as it made me connect with Augustus much more, but this was not put into the film adaption, making it lack a bit in what I wanted to see.

I should have known that parts of the book wouldn’t make the final cut, but I guess that’s just how it goes. Oh well!

This is a movie that will probably make you cry, or at least bring you close to it. It will also make you laugh due to the comedy aspect being brought in as well as the sarcastic comments that are passed between the characters. Isaac was the one character in particular who made me laugh more than anyone else. Without him, the comedy would have been cut short and it would have been just dramatic all the way through. It made light of a very tough subject and made it easier for the audience to get a grip on what was going on.

I tell you one thing this movie did that the book didn’t, it made me identify more with Hazel. In the book she seemed to annoy me slightly, but on screen she was portrayed very well by Shailene Woodley. Also, it really made me despise Van Houten more than before. He was so much more arrogant and for some reason though, I thought that was great as he was definitely a character you love to hate.Well done to the Willem Dafoe for that!

Finally, don’t get me wrong, I love Ansel Elgort, but I am more in love with Augustus Waters, so much so that the ending for me was extremely heartbreaking. Thankfully, I read the book beforehand so I knew what was coming, but it still hit me, and if you haven’t seen it yet, or you haven’t read the book, it will hit you too.

Check out this movie: Amazon UK | Amazon US

Lonely Girl Awards The Fault In Our Stars: 3.75 / 5 Stars

Lonely Girl x


Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin

13 thoughts on “The Fault In Our Stars | Movie Monday

  1. Teenella says:

    I completely agree with you when you say that the book was more in depth than the movie…it was one of the reasons I preferred the book a little bit more than the movie to be honest!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

