Solitaire By Alice Oseman | Book Review

https://i2.wp.com/d.gr-assets.com/books/1390416741l/20618110.jpgTitle: Solitaire

Author: Alice Oseman

Publisher: Harper Collins Children’s Books

Buy The Book: Amazon UK | Amazon US


‘In case you’re wondering, this is not a love story.

My name is Tori Spring. I like to sleep and I like to blog. Last year – before all that stuff with Charlie and before I had to face the harsh realities of A-Levels and university applications and the fact that one day I really will have to start talking to people – I had friends. Things were very different, I guess, but that’s all over now.

Now there’s Solitaire. And Michael Holden.

I don’t know what Solitaire are trying to do, and I don’t care about Michael Holden.

I really don’t.

This incredible debut novel by outstanding young author Alice Oseman is perfect for fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell and all unflinchingly honest writers.’


Review:

Wow! That is the best way I think I can start this review, because I believe this book is one of the best I have read. Ever!

The main reason I became so engrossed in this book, was because of the characters, Tori and Becky. Tori reminded me very much of myself, and how I can be quite often, which really made me feel like the author understood how different teenagers can act, and react to certain situations. Oh and her best friend was named Becky Allen, which just so happens to be the name of one of my closest friends in my old school. They even share similar characteristics which makes it even more weird and awesome.

We also get to know the likes of Michael, Lucas, Charlie and Nick, each of which had their own personalities which made them unique to the storyline. Out of these four, I absolutely adored Charlie and Michale the most. They were both, equally such lovable and relatable characters. Each has had struggles which they have had to face, but without losing sight of who they are. Also, they had such a warm and forgiving nature to them, which is something many people wish to have.

Oseman really managed to capture what it is like to be a teenager of today. The variation of references to things we know, made for a more realistic read to the point that everyone can appreciate her genius. Just the concept of this book is so different, and not like anything you would have read before.

Chloe Lauren x


Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin

4 thoughts on “Solitaire By Alice Oseman | Book Review

  1. Tea Lover Jess says:

    I LOVE THIS BOOK! no one i know has read this book and I always say how great it is and now I’ve found someone who loves the book just as much as me! I love the characters in this book but also all of the references it includes like harry Potter, The Smiths, Merlin etc. I really loved this post! x

    Like

Leave a Reply

