Half Bad By Sally Green | Book Review

https://firewaterman.files.wordpress.com/2014/09/71stxe1duvl-_sl1500_.jpg?w=191&h=296Title: Half Bad

Author: Sally Green

Publisher: Penguin

Buy The Book: Amazon UK | Amazon US


‘Sixteen-year-old Nathan lives in a cage: beaten, shackled, trained to kill. In a modern-day England where two warring factions of witches live amongst humans, Nathan is an abomination, the illegitimate son of the world’s most terrifying and violent witch, Marcus. Nathan’s only hope for survival is to escape his captors, track down Marcus, and receive the three gifts that will bring him into his own magical powers—before it’s too late. But how can Nathan find his father when there is no one safe to trust, not even family, not even the girl he loves?

Half Bad is an international sensation and the start of a brilliant trilogy: a gripping tale of alienation and the indomitable will to survive.’


Review:

Half Bad is one of those books that has made people doubt whether or not they have read this before due it seeming quite familiar, but I personally think it to be unique, and really deserves to be seen this way.

The world that was formed and the characters you meet throughout, were crafted and developed beautifully, and I found Green’s writing style to be wonderfully endearing. Yay! Go Sally Green!

However, to begin with, I did find it a little difficult to get a hold of what was going on, making it quite hard to get into, but eventually it clicked, and from that moment on, it became a fast paced read which captivated me at every turn of the page.

Oh and there seems to be a change in narration as the story goes on, which let’s be honest, was rather confusing to get my head around at first, but at the same time, once I got used to it, seemed to work. Also, I am just going to put this out there, the tenses change with the story as well, which goes to show, does work and is a good way of writing, but my teachers used to tell me off when I used to change my tenses. I know I had good reason to do it, so thank you for showing my teachers it can work. I truly appreciate it.

This book definitely plays with the idea of making a choice, especially from Nathan who is both a White and a Black Witch, meaning he has both good and bad within him, just as we all do. Don’t say you don’t either. I see you looking around nervously there, trying not to take responsibility for that. I mean, I am not afraid to say I am both good and bad, because it’s really only natural that we are.

Anyway, this is just a great story with a great concept, which desires to be read and adored by, well, everyone.

Chloe Lauren x


Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin

10 thoughts on “Half Bad By Sally Green | Book Review

Leave a Reply

