Shake It Up With Shakespeare

stroll

Hey Guys,

Welcome to Charlecote Park in Warwick, near Statford-Upon-Avon. Actually, Stratford-Upon-Avon, if you didn’t know, just so happens to be classed as being the home of one of the most famous play writes in the world. Maybe you’ve heard of him, William Shakespeare. In fact, it was the anniversary of his death recently, so this post is more topical than I originally thought. Go me!

I have had only good experiences with everything Shakespeare. In my first Secondary school, every year, we would preform a Shakespeare play. It was a way to introduce the new year 7s into the school, without being too overwhelmed. Oddly, drama was one of my strongest areas, although in reality, I’m not that confident, but put me on a stage and I seem to be perfectly fine. Weird!

2016-05-01 16.24.352016-05-01 15.26.092016-05-01 15.25.102016-05-01 13.20.43


Now we venture into the house and family museum. The moment you walk into the main Hall, the first thing you notice is artwork, and only artwork, it is literally covering every part of the walls. That’s the thing about the rich back then, they just wanted to show off just how rich they were through how they dressed up their home, even if it means showing off things they probably didn’t care about.

2016-05-01 12.37.112016-05-01 16.24.142016-05-01 16.23.432016-05-01 16.23.05

After wandering aimlessly around the house, we took a walk around the grounds, where we saw part of the river. I picked up a stone and was going to throw it in the water, but my step dad got in the way and I accidentally hit him instead, only on the back though. He is fine. Well I hope he is, after all he did buy me 5 new books today!


Here we have the church which is situated just around the corner from the house and park area. I went in through the back way, and thought I got stuck, because I couldn’t get back out, but it turned out I was pushing the gate the wrong way. It was a one way system, so that was a bit embarrassing.

2016-05-01 16.22.372016-05-01 16.22.16

Chloe Lauren x

QOTD: If You Could Spend The Day With Any Person From The Past, Who Would It Be And Why?


Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin

20 thoughts on “Shake It Up With Shakespeare

    • Chloe Lauren says:

      It was! I know, it’s a bit weird though. I don’t understand why I can do that. When it came to auditioning, I was always so frightened, but I think sometimes you just have to put yourself out there, and hope for the best πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  1. jwforeva says:

    Oh really? I always get stage fright so I’m way more comfortable directing πŸ™‚ With so much beauty around no wonder Shakespeare had the inspiration! What’s your favourite Shakespeare play Chloe?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Chloe Lauren says:

      Well, I don’t understand how I manage it, but yeah, I became a completely different person on stage. Maybe it’s because I am hiding behind a character. I don’t know! Oh and Shakespeare was a genius, he could probably get inspiration anywhere, but I do have to say, he was very much one sided, because he wrote his plays to make the royals at the time happy, so he changed certain details, like those about Richard III!

      Like

  2. L says:

    Wow – that sounds like an amazing day out! The BBC have been running a campaign to try and get more people to enjoy Shakespeare recently too. I think spending the day with Henry VIII would be interestinf, as he’s always made out to be this fat, self indulgent man, but I guess it’d be interesting to hear his side of the story and see life through his eyes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Chloe Lauren says:

      It was! There were so many places to buy Tea, which was AWESOME! Oh and really? People should start to get more interested in his work, even if they don’t like it, it is a way of respecting and honoring the work of a national treasure. Oh and yes! I used to be obsessed with the Tudors. He wasn’t always fat, because I remember reading he was very athletic at one point, which seems to be a detail many seem to leave out.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. regina5000 says:

    I love everything: the gardens, the house, the church… it’s all beautiful!!! πŸ˜„ πŸ˜„ And the only time we had to perform a play was in kindergarten when I was 5 years old.
    Great post!!! πŸ˜„

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hannah says:

    I actually live in ‘Shakespeare’s County’ and I’ve seen some pretty rundown places, I guess it’s about where you go! I love Stratford and used to go every Easter with my friends and I have such fond memories πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Chloe Lauren says:

      Oh really? To be honest though, anywhere you go, you are going to see both good and bad areas, even in the places where you think it will be just perfect. Oh and that sound great! Have you ever been to Mary Arden’s Farm then?

      Like

Leave a Reply

