Things Book Lovers Don’t Want To Hear You Say

summer tips(2)

Hey Guys,

We book lovers are a fickle bunch, but usually very nice people who love to immerse ourselves into new worlds and meet new characters as often as we can, which is great, but unfortunately some people don’t seem to understand our love. Ok! Obsession!

Some people will go as far as to give their opinion on books, which may or may not cut very deep within, after all we are very fragile, especially with all of the emotional breakdowns we have to endure because of our love for books. So, just to make sure your words don’t end up hurting us, here is a guide to what you shouldn’t say to someone who loves books!

Why don’t you just watch the movie rather than reading the book

Don’t get me wrong, I love movie adaptions, so much so that I did a post on my top 10 favourites yesterday, which you can check out here (shameless plug). However, they do tend to miss out some of the best and most important details from the book. Well, maybe not important to some people, but to people like me, really important. Watching the movie is literally like seeing half of the story. It’s just not the same!

https://i0.wp.com/cdn2.teen.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/07/Michael-Scott-Annoyed.gif

I accidentally ripped one of the pages in that book you lent me

Thankfully this hasn’t been said to me yet, touch wood, but I have had someone spill an entire bottle of water on a book I was reading, right in front of my eyes. You should have seen the look on my face. I was truly mortified.

https://media.giphy.com/media/bZzaL4itJcWQM/giphy.gif

Don’t you already have enough books to read?

Enough books? Really? I am pretty certain there is no such thing as having enough books. Sure, not all of them fit on my bookcase now, but that doesn’t matter, because I have wardrobes I can put them in. I mean, who needs clothes?

https://i2.wp.com/cdn2.teen.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/08/benedict-cumberbatch-umm-no.gif

I read that book you love. I really hated it!

This is like a knife in the heart. If someone read Noughts and Crosses, which is my favourite book, and told me they hated it, I would be upset, because it is just so perfect. Please don’t tell someone you hate their favourite book. It is actually really hurtful.

https://i1.wp.com/media.giphy.com/media/R0dt8qgk2A0ak/giphy.gif

Reading is boring!

The amount of times I have heard someone say this is really unbelievable. Why is it that so many people seem to think the idea of reading is the most strenuous task known to human kind? It really isn’t. Just give a book a go, and you’ll soon find out that once you get into it, the time just flies by, without knowing where it has gone.

https://i0.wp.com/cosmouk.cdnds.net/15/08/1424195025-facebook-tricks-tips-2.gif

Why are you getting so emotional? It’s just a book!

A lot of us book lovers easily get attached to the characters we are reading about, and love them so much, to the point that it pains us when we have to say goodbye to them. It’s like losing a friend. I am only human after all!

https://diaryofalonelygirlblog.files.wordpress.com/2016/05/761ab-6a0120a95a88d5970b01bb0846cb47970d-pi.gif?w=636&h=267

Chloe Lauren x


Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin

26 thoughts on “Things Book Lovers Don’t Want To Hear You Say

  1. Jerrod says:

    So accurate Chloe! So accurate. What I hate the most is when they say to just watch the movie because yes, they miss some of the important parts and they often ruin the whole thing *coughs* Allegiant *coughs*

    Liked by 1 person

      • Jerrod says:

        Hahaha, I just really hate when directors and producers mess the movie adaptation. Yeah, I can resist some few changes but changing the plot and all… UGH! I can watch a 5 hour movie adaptation if they get it right.

        Like

  2. Lilyn G. (Sci-Fi & Scary) says:

    I don’t mind the “I hated that book” so much, just because different people have different tastes and getting offended over someone not liking something I liked just feels pointless.

    But the “Reading is boring”? I want to smack people over their darned heads! Gaaaahhh!!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Mahnoor Shah says:

    I agree with the entire post! I mean when someone says they hate Harry Potter, I am offended to say the least. Reading is never boring and when people say just watch the movie, I want to hit them with the same book. πŸ˜›

    Like

  4. Lou says:

    people that say those things are really annoying! if someone said they ripped a page out of my book, then you don’t want to be near me! haha

    Like

  5. Ari says:

    Excellent post. That one about the page rip…*twitches* I’ve had people return books with folded down corners and broken spines. *more twitches* now I just never lend books. They are too precious to be dealt with by other people.

    I also hate “haven’t you already read that book?” I love re-reading my favourite books. They are worlds to continually escape into.

    Like

  6. regina5000 says:

    I love this post! I think that telling to your friends to watch the movie rather than reading the book is like ripping your legs off. πŸ˜› I also think people shouldn’t say reading is boring, they can think it but not say it, it’s like calling you stupid!!! Everything here is SO true!!!
    Awesome post!!! XD XD

    Like

Leave a Reply

