It’s Heating Up At Hanbury Hall

stroll

Hey Guys,

Finally! We had a hot day here in the UK. Oh and when I say hot, I mean absolutely boiling. Well, boiling by our standards anyway, especially mine. And when I say finally, I obviously mean, why? I hate the heat. Hate is a very strong word, so instead I will just say, seriously dislike it with a passion. Better? Thought so. Anyway, I wouldn’t have minded it so much as long as there was a bit of a breeze to accompany it, but there was hardly anything at all, apart from a little bit here and there.

I guess I should mention where we went today then. What you are about to see is Hanbury Hall, built and made a home for the wealthy lawyer, Thomas Vernon back in the 18th Century. We are talking about one the men who helped bring this Country the first of the King George’s, by being part of the National party that backed him up. It was either George I or a man who was part of a birthing scandal. I bet you didn’t know that!

2016-05-08 13.34.47

This cute little second hand book shop was filled to the brim with some great finds, including the book I ended up going home with, ‘My Booky Wook’ by one of my favourite British comedians, Russel Brand. After I had my lunch, I actually began reading it, and within literally the first page, I found myself internally laughing, a bit too much. He is very open about his previous addictions, I will tell you that much now.

2016-05-08 13.35.18

We took a long walk around the area to see what we could find. Well, it wasn’t the longest walk we have done, but it was by far the hottest day so far here in the UK, so it definitely did feel like it. I’m still recovering from it right now. However, forget at the pain for a moment, and just look at the beauty that I found. This is why I love walking!

2016-05-08 13.35.532016-05-08 13.33.572016-05-08 13.36.222016-05-08 13.33.04

The house itself had such gorgeous decor, as well as a huge mural which was hand painted and depicted the connection between Earth and Heaven, by showing Hermes, the Messenger God, passing a portrait on to another God. It always makes me wonder how they manage to paint these murals so well, and not make one noticeable mistake. It must have taken so much skill.

2016-05-08 16.13.302016-05-08 16.13.572016-05-08 16.14.172016-05-08 16.14.392016-05-08 16.15.342016-05-08 16.16.38

If it’s still hot tomorrow, someone remind me to wear shorts, or at the very least, three quarter lengths. Oh and I hope you all had a great day also, because I will admit, the heat isn’t as bad as I made it out to be. As long as it doesn’t burn us, we are fine.

See you again soon!

Chloe Lauren x


Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin

8 thoughts on “It’s Heating Up At Hanbury Hall

  1. jwforeva says:

    Dayum where do you find all THESE places??! I never have these sorts of historical cottage places with beautiful gardens and interesting finds. Love that little bookstore btw :)) Really enjoyed this post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

