A Big Place! An Even Bigger Challenge!

stroll

Hey Guys,

The other day me and my mom took a trip to Birmingham, because I was desperate to see what the library was like there. You know, because I am a huge book nerd, and I had heard nothing but great things about it. However, as someone with anxiety, just the idea of going was frightening. I forced myself to go, and it ended up being a great day.

When we got there, we had no idea where we were going, as we hadn’t been there in years. For me, that was when I was still in a pushchair, so how was I supposed to remember what it was like? Easy, I wasn’t! Thankfully though, we met someone who pointed us in the right direction, but even that was only vague, so we had to ask others also. It was unbelievable just how helpful people were being to us. They had no problem with giving us a hand in finding our way around this city I had barely seen before.


You should have seen my face the moment I saw the building, I was in awe, and quickly taken back by the architecture. I am not usually a fan of modern buildings, but this was breathtaking, especially in person. I can honestly say, this is the biggest library I have had the pleasure of seeing. It has about 9 levels to it, with each level dedicated to different things that are going on, including a gallery on the 3rd, which at the moment is featuring everything Shakespeare. A bit further up, you have two terraces, one the Discovery Terrace, and the other, The Secret Garden, both of which offer a different viewing experience.

2016-05-17 15.13.59

The inside was HUGE, which I should have seen coming really, with what I just said was included in the building. We literally went from one escalator to another, just traveling up, and up, and up, just like Willy Wonka does with Charlie and his Grandad in the Glass Elevator. What I am trying to say is, it was magical in a way.

The next three pictures are taken from The Secret Garden, which is on the 7th floor of the building. It was a perfect place to sit down, and look out at the views of the area around us. This wasn’t even the top, and what you could see was far across the city, probably even beyond. It would have been more awesome if I had brought my copy of the book The Secret Garden.

IMG_20160517_121145IMG_20160517_1528262016-05-17 15.16.34

When we left the library, we went for a walk around the area, looking for a place to have lunch. We could have gone in the library cafe, but we weren’t sure if they did Gluten Free, meaning we had to look elsewhere.

Our walk took us past other buildings, all of which must have had significance, especially the one in the second picture below, which if I remember rightly was a sort of War Memorial.

2016-05-17 15.13.222016-05-17 15.14.382016-05-17 15.16.59

I noticed a sign for one of the museums in the area, and told my mom to look there, because I thought they were bound to have a cafe inside. I was right, but there wasn’t just one, but two cafes inside. We ended up going into the bigger of the two, not knowing where the other one was, had our usual tea, as well as our lunch, which was a bit more than I could chew (pun intended).

2016-05-17 15.13.42

By about 3pm, we were ready to make our way home, which wasn’t as easy as we thought it would be. It took us a while to figure out where it was we were supposed to get back onto the tram we came on. You would think we would know! Once again, the people around were helpful, but could have been quicker to tell us, because we were standing around for what felt like forever.


I was just nervous to travel there, worried I would get in a panic, either on the way or on arrival, but I was fine. Sort of! I did it though, and that is all that matters. Another couple of times with my mom by my side, and I think I might be able to make it there on my own. Now that would be a challenge for me.

Where Have You Been That You Didn’t Expect To Be As Great As It Was?

Chloe Lauren x


Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin

6 thoughts on “A Big Place! An Even Bigger Challenge!

  1. GeorgieGrl says:

    It seems like you had an awesome time, so jealous!
    I’ve never been to Birmingham, but i’ve entered a competition and if i get past this round, i’ll be going to Birmingham for the final event =)

    Like

Leave a Reply

