The Night Of Redemption | Short Story

Hey Guys,

I wrote a short story for you today, hopefully you will like it. It took me a while, because I have never been in this situation myself, but I know people that have or have known people who have. I am trying to show that any mistake you make does not define you and any problem you are facing, you can come back from, better, and much stronger, with people who care to help you through. You are never alone.


We lay there, unable to move, as we stay in our own little world, still captivated by the night that had just left us. What a night it must have been I think to myself, as I tilt my head to look at what surrounds us. Empty bottles cover the ground and distorted memories hold us close in an icy embrace that cuts through me like a knife, just like brain freeze, but much worse.

I close my eyes and imagine my life when I was still with you, you still have that innocent gleam in your eyes as you stared passionately into the sky. It is as though you saw something I would never be able to. So forgiving. So at peace. How I ever managed to be so reckless, and bring you into this life, I will never know. I just can’t tear myself away, but you still managed to believe in me like nobody else can, not even me.

Yet where are you now? Every word you spoke to me was like a song to my ears, and now my heart is crying, because our perfect harmony is over. You were the angel I swapped, without a care, for the devil. Alcohol!

I stretch out, my body moving frantically, and tears flooding out from my eyes, leaving only a stain, but I quickly feel the gentle brush of a hand reaching softly for mine, hoping to calm me. With a nervous flinch, I edge away, but soon give in and let you take it, although I worry that even with one touch you will know the person I truly am, and will be scared by what I could do, but there is that same innocence in your eyes, a look IĀ  keep locked away safe within this anxious vault I call a mind. A look that loved me before. I never thought I would see something like it again. Now the look that will save me, from well, me. I have a chance to begin again, and it’s all thanks to you.

Chloe Lauren x


Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin

25 thoughts on “The Night Of Redemption | Short Story

  1. kcarr642 says:

    I really like the flow of your writing. It’s so well done! My only suggestion (as someone who’s teetered dangerously close to this situation) would be to describe the smell of stale alcohol and the bitter dry taste in her mouth. It just adds to the awfulness. Great, great writing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. littleteensblog says:

    Oh my god Chloe, I can’t even begin to explain how this post has made me feel. It’s so accurate it’s almost scary, and despite the fact I’m not an alcoholic I know exactly how what you wrote about feels. Thank you so so much for writing this xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

