You Are Never Too Old To Start Again

http://www.hometheaterforum.com/community/media/2015-the-intern-poster-quad.2711/full

The Intern sees Ben Whittaker (Robert De Niro), a 70 year old who lives alone after unfortunately losing his wife, finds a new lease in life when he takes a position as a senior intern at an online clothes company run by the constantly busy Jules Ostin (Anne Hathaway).

This movie may not be the best piece of cinematography you will see this year, or perhaps ever, but it will definitely send you off feeling good because of its heartwarming nature and the themes it deals with throughout.

https://butacadavidciana.files.wordpress.com/2015/10/the-intern-2015-after-credits-hq.jpg?w=636&h=358

One thing I loved about this movie was how there is such an unexpected but yet so special friendship that forms between Jules and Ben throughout. However, at first she seems reluctant to get to know him, but their relationship soon evolves to the point that he becomes a trusted confidant, as well as a sort of father figure to her, which is something she needs. From the beginning you see she needs someone to keep her grounded and to be honest with her, especially when there happens to be a problem that could effect her work and home life.

https://i0.wp.com/womensilab.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/10/di-nero-is-the-intern.jpg

Something you are likely to take away from this movie, is that you may get older physically, but it doesn’t mean you have to feel your age, and conform to what is expected of you. Age is just a number, and doesn’t mean your worth is gone, but probably the complete opposite, as by that age, you have seen a lot and been through so much, making it more likely that you become an asset and someone to look up to. Experiences are everything, especially in this day and age.

https://i2.wp.com/trilbee.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/10/the-intern-5.png

I have to say there were a few things I didn’t quite understand about this, mainly to do with Jules and her husband. From first glance it seems like the perfect home life, but as the movie goes on, their secrets are unveiled and you see how her husband breaks her heart, but yet she thinks what he is doing is something to forgive him for. I wouldn’t! Some of their moments together, just seriously made me cringe, and I seriously did not get it. At all!

Ok, at first I was expecting this to be a film that I was going to seriously end up hating, and although it wasn’t the best movie I have seen in a while, it actually didn’t end up being as bad as I thought. That taught me not to judge!

Chloe Lauren x


Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin

4 thoughts on “You Are Never Too Old To Start Again

  1. neverlandclub says:

    After reading this I’m definitely thinking about watching it, I love De Niro and Anne Hathaway too but it didn’t look like the kind of movie I would go to see, thanks for changing my mind!

    Like

  2. charoflondon says:

    This was me too. I watched it on the plane home and didn’t think I’d like it but it was light hearted and sweet with a message. The way the whole movie looks kind of reminds me of pinterest for some reason

    Like

Leave a Reply

