A New Twist On A Well Loved Classic!

25663516 Title: Beastkeeper

Author: Cat Hellisen

Publisher: Square Fish


Falling in love means becoming a monster.

Sarah has always been on the move. Her mother hates the cold, so every few months her parents pack their bags and drag her off after the sun. She’s grown up lonely and longing for magic. She doesn’t know that it’s magic her parents are running from.

When Sarah’s mother walks out on their family, all the strange old magic they have tried to hide from comes rising into their mundane world. Her father begins to change into something wild and beastly, but before his transformation is complete, he takes Sarah to her grandparents—people she has never met, didn’t even know were still alive.

Deep in the forest, in a crumbling ruin of a castle, Sarah begins to untangle the layers of curses affecting her family bloodlines, until she discovers that the curse has carried over to her, too. The day she falls in love for the first time, Sarah will transform into a beast . . . unless she can figure out a way to break the curse forever.’


Review:

Growing up, you probably remember the fairy tale Beauty and the Beast, right? Of course you do, because there is soon to be a new version featuring Emma Watson coming out in the near future, which I know many people will be excited for.

The reason I bring it up, is because Beastkeeper is a book which manages to capture the essence of the well loved classic, but with a modern twist added, for a new age. For some reason, this style of book seems to be really taking over at the moment, giving the stories we fell in love with when we were younger, a new lease on life.

The book itself isn’t particularly long, around about 200 pages, but I found it to be quite slow paced, at least for the first half anyway. It took a while to get to the main point of the story, which made it slightly hard to get into. I had to keep putting it down because at times I felt my eyes beginning to close. However, once I surpassed the halfway mark, I felt things turning round, and I ended up getting the enjoyment I wanted from it.

The twist in the book, is not what I originally expected. When I first read the synopsis I thought it was going to be something else, but no, it was almost completely opposite. I did like it the more I read, but I just thought it would have been better if it was what I thought. I was a bit disappointed with that.

My favourite thing about this book was the involvement of magic in a land which at first appears to have none, as well as how the different characters seem to react to it. Our main character, Sarah, was at first reluctant to believe, but was well developed in the short amount of pages, and really grew on me, as she learned to accept what she is, as well as the people around her for what they are.

If you are looking for magic, curses, and the love of family all in one place, then this is the book for you.

Chloe Lauren x


Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin

One thought on “A New Twist On A Well Loved Classic!

Leave a Reply

