Angry Birds The Movie | Movie Review

https://i.ytimg.com/vi/QRmKa7vvct4/maxresdefault.jpg

So I finally got around to watching this movie after being told it was ‘laugh out loud’ funny by several people who urged me to see it.

Hmm. How do I put this nicely?

It was funny, to a certain degree, but it definitely wasn’t roll on the floor, dying of laughter funny like I thought it was going to be. I think I laughed a couple of times, and that was mainly at the jokes that only adults would understand, including a sneaky reference to ‘Fifty Shades of Grey’ (cheeky), as well as certain parts of dialogue between the characters, mainly from the character Chuck with whoever he is speaking with. Apart from that, not really!

To be honest, I think after watching Paddington last year, the bar for family comedies, was raised pretty high, because that was hilarious (if you haven’t see it, you have to!).

https://i1.wp.com/cdn1-www.comingsoon.net/assets/uploads/2016/02/SneakBeak.jpg

I have never played the game. I was never really interested. I know, how dare I not join in with this world wide phenomenon. However, I know what it involves so I wasn’t particularly expecting much from it in terms of plot, but it ended up having an interesting and somewhat decent concept.

Angry birds go to anger management classes. See? Interesting as well as slightly humorous!

I really liked how they mentioned why the character Red is as angry as he is, by touching on the subject of bullying when he was younger. I still felt as though it could have had more to it than just one mini flashback.

https://i0.wp.com/files.vividscreen.info/soft/87502d9468393faf52978a30f0f2ce11/The-Angry-Birds-Movie-Pigs-wide-i.jpg

The pigs were seriously annoying, and I don’t know what it is about them, but I found them rather creepy, even when I found out the voice of Leonard, the King of the Pigs, was Bill Hader. I guess that was the idea though. If so, then clearly they succeeded there.

When the idea from the game was finally introduced towards the end, during the battle between the Birds, and Pigs, I think it gave the movie that something extra, which makes people feel part of the story line, because of the familiarity. Not for me though. Also, it allows for the main characters to be seen in a totally different light, and finally get the acceptance they never knew they wanted. Obvious and predictable, but still makes you smile.

https://www.angrybirds.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/HB.png

Oh and for any YouTube fans out there, these two minor but lovable characters are voiced by Ian Hecox, and Anthony Padilla from the popular YouTube channel, Smosh! I literally just found that out. Awesome right?

Chloe Lauren x

2 thoughts on “Angry Birds The Movie | Movie Review

  1. Lily says:

    I didnt see this movie in theatres despite people telling me it was funny as well. I really was just a bit suspcious I guess of how this movie would turn out. Angry birds was a fun game (I was one of the many people that really liked to play), but would it really make a good movie? Sometimes franchises need to learn when to leave well enough alone!

    Like

Leave a Reply

