Your Fears Can Hold You Back

29910648 Title: Love and Other Man-Made Disasters

Author: Nicola Doherty

Publisher: Hachette Children’s Group


Juno is scared of a lot of things. Climate change, urban foxes, zombies – the usual. So when she goes on a skiing holiday with her mum’s adrenaline-mad new husband and his tearaway twins, she doesn’t hold much hope of surviving. Then she meets Boy. Gruff, hairy and thrill-seeking, he’s everything Juno doesn’t like. Or is he? Juno’s about to discover there’s nothing more scary than falling in love.’


Review:

Firstly, I would like to thank the publisher for giving me the chance to read and review this book for them.

When I first started this book, I felt a bit weird, nostalgic if you will, but I will just stick with weird. This was mainly because a lot of what was happening, had happened to me before. They go on a skiing trip to Austria for a week during Easter. So did I, a few years back. Juno, the main character, finds the bad in everything, and was terrible at skiing for the entire first day. So was I. Oh and she is seventeen and enjoys Horrible Histories. So did I (I still do). I can’t remember the last time I came across a book so reminiscent of that of my own life.

The one thing that didn’t happen to me though, was getting involved with a skiing instructor like Juno does. How that is not on her list of things to be worried about, I don’t know.

Talking about this romance between Juno and Boy (it’s a nickname), it was very sweet, but I felt it to be slightly rushed. One minute they seem annoyed with each other (mainly Boy with Juno) and the next, they have fallen for one another. Oh and then back to annoyance, and then of course back together again. This sudden roller coaster ride of emotion takes place over the course of about two weeks. In a way, I get that there can be a sudden attraction, but with what happens between these two in particular, it seems a bit too quick.

Something I did enjoy, was how Juno manages to gain a new outlook on life, from constantly worrying over the little things, to realising that she will never get to where she wants to be, or have the life she wants, until she steps out of her comfort zone and finally faces her fears. This is such a great concept to include into the book, as it is a life lesson that everyone needs to realise and learn, just like me, especially recently. I was never one for facing my fears due to anxiety, but lately I have taken myself out of where I feel most comfortable, and am now challenging myself, and I have never felt more proud or happier. Once again, I find myself being able to identify with Juno.

A book for fans of cute romances, as well as thrill seekers who want more out of life than they already have.

Chloe Lauren x

One thought on “Your Fears Can Hold You Back

Leave a Reply

