The Awoken | Short Story

My Summer Reads

It was midnight when I woke, from what seemed like the roughest night I had had in a long time.
When I opened my eyes I knew exactly why.
I was laying on the ground outside, my body in the worst position possible.
However it was that I ended up being here, I wasn’t sure, but wherever here was, I could not yet tell. It seemed to be a forest of some kind, definitely not somewhere I had seen or been, at least not from my own recollection.

Only a thick blanket of darkness surrounded me, but yet I could still see everything as clear as day, as if the world were in high definition, waiting for me to see the backlash from the hours before.
My eyes had quickly become attuned to the night sky around me, like a predator would be when hunting down their prey.
My depth and field of view still perfect and fully in action. In that moment I could have sworn I could see further away than normal. Maybe it was just my mind playing tricks on me, but somehow I knew it was real, and nothing from this moment was going to be normal.
Looking down, all I saw was blood pouring from every area from cuts, and bruises marked out like tattoos across the entirety of my body. I tried to move to make myself more comfortable, but that just made it worse.

I winced at the unbearable pain that felt like a surge of electricity moving throughout every inch of me, from my fingers to the tips of my toes. I think it was enough to have driven me crazy, so to save myself from a second attack, I remained still, although it was difficult to do so, when my body was naturally shaking into movement from the knife like air around me, digging deep into my skin.
I couldn’t see it of course, but I could tell from my movements, and what I was feeling, that my face was probably in the same state.

All I could wonder was how long I had been here like this, and why?


What do you think? Should I continue with this story? I feel it is the beginning of a great mystery/Fairy tale like story, but that is just my opinion. I imagine it is just me that thinks that now that I have said it. Oh well!

Chloe Lauren x

6 thoughts on “The Awoken | Short Story

  1. Elm says:

    Yeah, please continue! I’m curious as to who the person ended up there, with the cuts and bruises. Also, congrats on the job application! I’m so proud of you 🙂

    Like

  2. Faristha K. says:

    You definitely should continue. You write well. You’ll develop a nice story if you manage to retain the element of suspense while having readers wanting more.
    Do check out my page too if you’re interested 🙂

    Like

  3. regina5000 says:

    That was beautiful!! I love it! ❤ Also I'm so happy you have a job interview! I'm so proud of you, you can do it!!! 😄 😄 *virtual hug* 🙂 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

