Letter To Myself – The Reply

the-reply

A year ago (maybe slightly over), I was challenged to write a letter to my future self, and then a year later, if I wanted to, which clearly I am going to, to give a reply.

Basically I am being asked to just talk to myself, which if I am totally honest is not difficult at all, saying that I do so quite often. I am just worried that I am going to cringe like mad at how I used to write, and just who I was back then.

Cue complete awkwardness from last year…


… Dear Future Me,

I am just going to start by stating the obvious, you’re definitely older, but have you really grown, as a person that is, not height wise, because let’s face it, you are not going to grow any more are you? Sorry for that harsh truth, and so early on in this letter as well.

I hope you laughed at that, rather than just getting annoyed, like you usually would. Don’t roll your eyes at that either, because we both know it’s true.

Over the years you have changed, a part of you has somehow lost the person you once were, and that’s such a shame, but together we can fix that. You have such a great attitude when you actually do what you need to do. There is so much you could achieve. If only you would believe in yourself, like your friends and family have done for all of this time.

There are days where I will still look at myself, and just see what I think to be the most terrible person I have ever known. I just hope in the future you perception of yourself is different, because you know how much pain we have been through feeling that way. I know it wasn’t your fault though. Things happened in our past, but now we just have to learn to keep our pasts where they belong, in the past.

Before I close this letter, I have to remember to remind you to always tell the people you care about the most, that you appreciate them. They have been with you through everything, and I know you care, you have a heart of gold, but it never hurts to tell them wherever possible that they mean a lot to you. Even the smallest gesture would be enough, it doesn’t have to be extravagant.

Finally, I am glad you have finally found somewhere you belong. Blogging has really helped you, and you always look your happiest when you are writing up the posts. It’s lovely to see. Keep it up, because you are doing great.

I will see you in a years time!

Love Chloe.


Yep, definitely as bad as I remember.

I am still really shocked that a year has already managed to fly by since I posted that, and thankfully, a huge amount has changed for me, which means that I can now give a huge sigh of relief, but not until I have done what I am supposed to do in this post…

…REPLY!


Dear Me, Myself and I,

It’s been an interesting year to say the least. We have been through a lot. Sort of like a fun roller coaster, which started on a constant loop of emotions, but has now evened off with great opportunities and happy times, although there have been some bumpy moments along the way, but hey, that’s just life.

Yeah, I know, I am so much more enthusiastic, right?

If you would have told me a year ago, I would be sitting here, writing to tell you how much our life would change for the better, you would have called me a liar.

Also, I don’t mean to scare you, but prepare yourself for some shock turns (spoiler alert: you are a now Christian! AWESOME!!!), things you would never have expected and things that are going to change your perceptions and just life in general. They may seem difficult to handle at the time, but are so beneficial to your growth as a person, which yes, you did emphasize in your letter to me a year ago, and yes, I really did listen.

I am really glad you mentioned being there and showing your loved ones, and those who matter most to you, that you love and care about them, because you never know who is going to go, and when. I won’t tell you who, because where you are now (which is in the past for me) in your life, it may completely break your heart, but trust me, it will be ok. I promise you!

You are worth a lot more than you thought, and will continue to do great things, just don’t let your emotions get in the way. YOU CAN DO IT!

Love Your Future Self.


I was expecting that to be so much harder than it was. It was actually a lot easier than the first time I did this. WOW!

I might do this again in a years time, and see where I am then. Hmm. I just impressed myself with a good idea there. Sounds like a plan.

See you all soon.

Stay Awesome!

Chloe Lauren x

8 thoughts on “Letter To Myself – The Reply

Leave a Reply

