My Week In Suffolk | Photo Diary

Last week I was unable to post on this blog, and for that I have good reason. I was away on holiday. I was in Suffolk, specifically the coastal area of Suffolk, which for some reason was lacking in WiFi, so I was only able to use the internet for maybe 10 minutes a day, sometimes not even that.

If I’m honest, I wasn’t too keen on the cottage we stayed at, but the area we were staying in and the surrounding areas were great and the locals were so helpful and welcoming. Let’s just say, we had quite the week.

Here is an overview of what my parents and I did over the week:

Day 1: Travel and Fish and Chips in Lowestoft

After a six hour drive, we left our bags and cases in the cottage, and went looking for a supermarket to stock up for the week, as well as finding a place which sold Fish and Chips, and in an area where we could sit by the sea. We ended up finding Lowestoft, a very busy area with a lot going on. There was a lot of hustle and bustle, and not the place to relax when you are tired.

Day 2: Dunwhich Heath and Village

Owned by the National Trust, Dunwich Heath is an area filled with a lot of walk ways and gorgeous views, as well as a shingle beach at the bottom of the cliff. Actually, little know fact, Dunwich is known as Britain’s Atlantis, because of most of it, being underwater now. BAM! Who says this blog isn’t educational?

Day 3: The greatest Zoo I have ever been too – Africa Alive!

If you want to be up, close and personal with the animals. This the place to go. I have never seen a zoo so clean and the animals so well looked after. One of the best places I have ever visited. Not even an exaggeration. It made the entire holiday for me. Hands down!

Day 4 and 6: Visiting Southwold

(visited twice because it was lovely there)

Southwold was an interestingly wonderful little seaside town. We spent two whole days there, where we explored the town (having my stepdad splash the cash at Joules),  the beach as well as the infamous pier and beach huts.

Day 5: Visiting Aldeburgh

Finally, we have Aldeburgh, a town I was pronouncing wrong the entire trip. Someone had to correct me on that. Oops! Anyway, here we walked across yet another shingle beach, came across the AMAZING and UNFORGETTABLE work of Elizabeth Garret Anderson, someone everyone should familiarise themselves with, and even wrote our names on a pebble for artistic effect.

Although, yes we did complain more than we should have, some of the days out were actually rather good and surprisingly, there were some wonderful little hidden gems that I would recommend to anyone thinking about heading up to the Suffolk Coast in the future.

Like they say, there is always a silver lining, even in the darkness there is light, and gees I sound so clichΓ© right now.  

Hope you all had a great week.

Chloe Lauren x

15 thoughts on “My Week In Suffolk | Photo Diary

  1. oceanoffear says:

    The pictures you took are amazing! I found this so weird as I live really close to where you stayed so I have been to all the places! Sorry about our complete lack of wifi, phone signal and anything modern!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Chloe Lauren says:

      Thank you! WOW! I am not one to complain about stuff like that. It’s just I needed a distraction from the cottage itself and there was nothing. The area and the people were amazing though!!! πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

